Ghirmay Ghebreslassie, Mary Keitany Winners In TCS New York City Marathon

iStock/Thinkstock(NEW YORK) — Eritrea’s Ghirmay Ghebreslassie has won the 2016 TCS New York City Marathon in the men’s field.

Ghebreslassie finished his debut in New York with an unofficial time of 2 hours, 7 minutes, 51 seconds.

Mary Keitany defended her title Sunday in an unofficial time of 2 hours, 24 minutes, 26 seconds, winning her third straight women’s title.

Tatyana McFadden won the women’s wheelchair race, sweeping the four major marathons for the fourth straight year. McFadden won six medals at the Rio Paralympics.

Marcel Hug of Switzerland won his second NYC Marathon title in the men’s race and his sixth marathon this year.

Copyright © 2016, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.